About

This little site is run by Luke, aided and abetted by Rebecca and inspired in part by the toddler whirlwind that is George.

This is us

Why?

I’ve been trying to set up a personal blog that combines hobbies, business and homelife without having to write about those things all over my freelance site.

The plan is actually to make it sustainable to write for the site during work hours by making it turn a little profit from affiliate links. As such I’ll be SEOing the site to high heaven and probably documenting the process as I go.

I was initially going to run several sites as pure affiliate projects, but in the end decided to keep the number of spinning plates lower and try to build more of a genuine connection with readers while doing the same affiliate efforts. I figure that way I’ll enjoy it more, and hopefully readers will too.

I will be reviewing and commenting on items from the tech hobby side of life, and Rebecca will be doing the same for homeware and craft resources. The assumed target audience at this point would be parents with the usual wider interests. If anything we do in our lives can be of use, that’s what the site’s here to share. Follow on our journey to self-sufficiency through learning.

Stack

I’ll no doubt write this up in more detail in the future, but for now:

  • hugo static site, rysnc to server
  • content written in vim, set up for distraction-free and autocompleted writing
  • small VPS, running nginx
  • SSL provided (for free) by letsencrypt

About us

Luke

  • Amateur Radio: UK Full OFCOM Licence - M0LSP
  • Karate: Wado-ryu, 1st Dan (some Capoeira, Shotokan, Kyokushin, Judo, Tang Soo Do)
  • Trading: forex, day and swing trades, since Jan 2017
  • Business: freelance for 15+ years, agency for 9 years, self-published book, recurring income from translations, SaaS for 5 years
  • Family: birth-parent of one, adoption due this year, married, campervan-holidayers
  • Homemaker

Rebecca

  • Royal College of Art, knitwear
  • Knitwear designer (various)
  • Homeware buyer (Cath Kidston, Debenhams)
  • College lecturer, adult learners
  • Private craft course runner
  • Homemaker